Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

The Meters – The Meters

On order
Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • The Meters is the debut album of the US funk band The Meters from New Orleans. It is an important work of the funk scene and one that is trembling with energy and soul. The organist Art Neville led the quartet, next to him played guitarist Leo Nocentelli, the rhythm section was formed by bassist George Porter and drummer Joseph "Zigaboo" Modeliste. New Orleans Funk in its purest form and beauty made this album so remarkable. Founded in 1965, The Meters is considered a pioneer of funk, alongside artists such as James Brown.

    B. Matheja in Rolling Stone: "In 1969/70, under the Meters company sign, they delivered three of the most consumptively sparse, most precise and quite simply of the most ingenious radio discs of all time. The foursome from New Orleans managed the perfect synthesis of Rhythm & Blues, Soul & Funk - fascinating and hypnotic. Never again has it been so breathtakingly short and good at the same time "by a combo."


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (146 votes)
  • Artist: The Meters
    Label: Josie, Music On Vinyl
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Soul & Funk
    Style: Bayou Funk
  • A1 Cissy Strut
    A2 Here Comes The Meter Man
    A3 Cardova
    A4 Live Wire
    A5 Art
    A6 Sophisticated Cissy
    B1 Ease Back
    B2 6V6 La
    B3 Sehorns Farm
    B4 Ann
    B5 Stormy
    B6 Simple Song