Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

R.E.M. – Monster

Sold out
Original price $55.00 - Original price $55.00
Original price
$55.00 - $55.00
Current price $55.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • "Monster" is REM's ninth studio album and was released in 1994, following "Out of Time" (1991) and "Automatic For The People" (1992), when the band reached the peak of their success. The album represented a return to REM s guitar-rich rock sound, reaching # 1 on the US Billboard charts as well as in 7 other countries, and achieving platinum status in Germany. After a long concert hiatus (the band did not tour with the previous two records), the band played their first tour since 1989 as part of the album promotion. Monster contains the singles: "What's The Frequency, Kenneth?", "Crush with Eyeliner", "Bang and Blame" and "Strange Currencies."

    For the 25th anniversary of "Monster", the album was remastered by sound engineer Greg Calbi and a remix of the album was created by producer Scott Litt, both of which will be released on double LP (180g) and double CD. In addition, the remastered version of the album with the original orange cover will be released on LP (180g).

    The deluxe box set of "Monster" (25th Anniversary Edition) includes the remastered version and remix of the album on 5 CDs, previously unreleased demos from the album and a complete live performance from 1995 recorded in Chicago. The accompanying Blu-Ray presents both the album in high-resolution audio and 5.1 surround sound, as well as a variety of video content: all six music videos from "Monster" and the 90-minute "Road Movie" documenting the 1995 REM tour . The box set is packaged in a 5 ½ inch portfolio book that includes liner notes by journalist Matthew Perpetua and archival photos.

    "Even 25 years later, it's fascinating to hear REM fight their way back to life with 'Monster' after facing death on 'Automatic For The People,' so after the melancholy mandolin sounds, now a ROCK album." (RollingStone)


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (1,663 votes)
  • Artist: R.E.M.
    Label: Craft Recordings
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • C Side
    A1 What'S The Frequency, Kenneth?
    A2 Crush With Eyeliner
    A3 King Of Comedy
    A4 I Don'T Sleep, I Dream
    A5 Star 69
    A6 Strange Currencies
    D Side
    B1 Tongue
    B2 Bang And Blame
    B3 I Took Your Name
    B4 Let Me In
    B5 Circus Envy
    B6 You