Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Foo Fighters – Greatest Hits (2xLP)

Original price $65.00 - Original price $65.00
Original price
$65.00 - $65.00
Current price $65.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Fifteen years of Foo Fighters - an appropriate time to take a look back. Some highlights: In the past decade and a half, six of the band's albums reached platinum status in the U.S. alone. In the same time, the Foos have been awarded six Grammys and managed to sell out Wembley Stadium, Madison Square Garden and the L.A. Forum. On October 30, 2009, another milestone in their career will follow: Under the title "Foo Fighters Greatest Hits", the band will release their first best-of album

    It goes without saying that it wasn't enough for the Foo line-up of Dave Grohl (vocals/guitar), Taylor Hawkins (drums/vocals), Nate Mendel (bass) and Chris Shiflett (guitar) to simply put together a kind of mixtape of their previous international smash hits, which had brought the musicians countless platinum awards, gold statuettes and sold-out arenas worldwide. That's why "Foo Fighters Greatest Hits" includes two brand new tracks: "Wheels," which was first performed publicly at President Obama's "USO Barbeque" honoring U.S. war heroes at the White House on July 4, and "Word Forward." Both tracks were recorded at the band's legendary, in-house 606 Studio specifically for the best-of album, directed by Butch Vig. In addition to the two newies, the long-player naturally includes Grammy Award-winning songs "The Pretender," "All My Life" and "Learn To Fly," as well as numerous Foo favorites like "Best Of You," "Times Like These," "My Hero" and "Everlong," to name a few.

    For all those who are still unfamiliar with the music genre "Rock'n'Roll", here is a short summary of the Foo career so far. The band made their debut in 1995 with their self-titled debut album, followed two years later by "The Colour & The Shape", a long player that went double platinum in the US with over two million units sold and was re-released in 2007 in a "10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition". The third and fourth Foo Fighters albums, "There Is Nothing Left To Lose" (1999) and "One By One" (2002), each won Grammy awards in the "Best Rock Album" category. In 2005, the band celebrated their tenth anniversary with the double CD "In Your Honour", followed a year later by the "Skin + Bones" CD and DVD, the live recording of a tour in which the band had performed in smaller theatres and played their songs mostly in acoustic versions. The band's last studio album to date, "Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace", was released in 2007 and set a first-week sales record on iTunes in the UK. For their sixth long player, the group received their third "Best Rock Album" Grammy (the sixth such award overall) and swept the international awards at the Brit Awards. The "ESP&G" tour culminated in the two biggest headline shows of their career: two sold-out concerts at London's Wembley Stadium, which brought them a record audience of 165,000. The sensational performance was immortalized on the 18 track DVD "Foo Fighters: Live At Wembley".

    As part of the now legendary Wembley shows, Grohl asked the audience, "How did this band get so fucking big?" The musicians will give the impressive answer to this question themselves on 30 October - with their first best-of collection "Foo Fighters Greatest Hits".
  • Artist: Foo Fighters
    Label: RCA, Roswell Records, Sony Music
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 All My Life
    A2 Best Of You
    A3 Everlong
    A4 The Pretender
    B1 My Hero
    B2 Learn To Fly
    B3 Times Like These
    B4 Monkey Wrench
    C1 Big Me
    C2 Breakout
    C3 Long Road To Ruin
    C4 This Is A Call
    D1 Skin And Bones
    D2 Wheels
    D3 Word Forward
    D4 Everlong (Acoustic)