Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Anouar Brahem – Blue Maqams (2xLP)

Original price $65.00 - Original price $65.00
Original price
$65.00 - $65.00
Current price $65.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • The Oud virtuoso with top-class guests. "Blue Maqams" is the name of the new 13th longplayer by the Tunisian oud virtuoso Anouar Brahem.

    In May of this year, he recorded nine songs at the Avatar Studios in New York. The production was taken over by ECM founder Manfred Eicher.

    In addition to Brahem on the Arabic short-necked lute, "Blue Maqams" features three other jazz giants: pianist Django Bates, drummer Jack DeJohnette and Dave Holland on double bass. The oud player already worked with the latter 20 years ago for his album "Thimar".

    With their album "Blue Maqams", Anouar Brahem and Gäste 2017 once again show how well jazz and oriental sounds fit together.


    "Like stars in the sky above the medina of Tunis shine the sounds Brahem produces with his three fellow players Django Bates (piano), Dave Holland (bass) and Jack DeJohnette (drums)." (Stereo, November 2017)

    "This is how a typical ECM quartet plate is made only that instead of a guitar, the Oud drives, underlays, comments, takes off on the way to the 'place where something is erected', a translation by Maqam. The recording and press quality "are maintaining the high level of ECM that they are used to." (Good Times, December 2017 / January 2018)
  • Artist: Anouar Brahem
    Label: ECM Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: Germany
    Genre: Jazz
  • A1 Opening Day
    A2 La Nuit
    B1 Blue Maqams
    B2 Bahia
    B3 La Passante
    C1 Bom Dia Rio
    C2 Persepolis'S Mirage
    D1 The Recovered Road To Al-Sham
    D2 Unexpected Outcome