Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Black Focus – Yussef Kamaal

Original price $52.00 - Original price $52.00
Original price
$52.00 - $52.00
Current price $52.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Black Focus is the debut studio album by English duo Yussef Kamaal, composed of drummer Yussef Dayes and keyboardist Kamaal Williams. It was released on 4 November 2016 under Brownswood Recordings. Characterised by its "spontaneity and flow", the album draws influence from electronic music of British origin. It received universal acclaim from music critics, being described as having a culturally diverse palette.

    In 2017, Yussef Kamaal were barred from touring in the United States due to Dayes' visa being revoked under the Trump administration, with the barring soon being followed by the duo's breakup. The album experienced moderate success in the United Kingdom, reaching number 13 on the Jazz & Blues chart. It earned Yussef Kamaal the Breakthrough Award at the 2017 Jazz FM Awards, and helped Williams rise to prominence. In 2018, Williams released his debut solo album The Return, which was considered a sequel to Black Focus.



    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (132 votes)
  • Artist: Yussef Kamaal
    Label: Brownswood Recordings
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: UK
    Genre: Jazz
  • A1 Black Focus
    A2 Strings Of Light
    A3 Remembrance
    B1 Yo Chavez
    B2 Ayla
    B3 O.G.
    B4 Lowrider
    B5 Mansur'S Message
    B6 Wingtai Drums
    B7 Joint 17