Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Various (2xLP)

On order
Original price $52.00 - Original price $52.00
Original price
$52.00 - $52.00
Current price $52.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • A triple Grammy award-winning record, one of the best soundtrack records of all time, reached No. 1 in America on March 23, 2002. The album O Brother, Where Art Thou? produced by T-Bone Burnett was a stirring blend of bluegrass, country, gospel, blues and folk music that musically underscored and undoubtedly enhanced the film of the same name by Joel and Ethan Coen. The remarkable success in the charts followed the glorious Grammy night of February 27th.

    From the very beginning, the soundtrack was conceived as an integral part of the film, and for this reason it was recorded before shooting began. Burnett's ideas are designed to inspire the shooting and give shape to the cinematography, and it works wonderfully.

    While most of the soundtrack consists of new recordings, there are a few vintage tracks, including Harry McClintock's 78 rpm from 1928, "Big Rock Candy Mountain". Ralph Stanley, one of the two Stanley Brothers who are bluegrass icons, recorded an a cappella version of the standard "O Death".

    One of the most outstanding songs on the record and the most famous is "I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow", written by the half-blind fiddle player Dick Burnett. The soundtrack is covered by John Hartford, while the Soggy Bottom Boys play a different version. Other highlights include "I'll Fly Away" by Alison Krauss and Gillian Welch, Chris Thomas King's beautiful version of Skip James' "Hard Time Killing Floor" and the Soggy Bottom Boys' revival of Blind Blake and Jimmie Rodger's "In The Jailhouse Now" by the Soggy Bottom Boys.

    The album's success was also helped by the Soggy Bottom Boys' version of "I am A Man of Constant Sorrow", which made it to number 35 on the Hot 100. But who exactly are the Soggy Bottom Boys? They are actually the group formed by the main characters of the film, and their name is a tribute to the Foggy Mountain Boys, the real bluegrass band led by Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs. In the film, the actors lip-synch the songs attributed to the band, although Tim Blake Nelson sings his own vocals on "In the Jailhouse Now". The real musicians are Dan Tyminski from Krauss' Union Station (guitar and lead vocals), Harley Allen and Pat Enright.

    After the success of the film, the fictional band became so popular that the many musicians featured in the film - including Ralph Stanley, John Hartford, Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch and Chris Sharp - got together and performed the music from the film in a Down From The Mountain concert tour.
  • Artist: Various
    Label: Island Def Jam Music Group, Lost Highway, Mercury
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: US
    Genre: Soundtracks
  • A1 Po Lazarus
    A2 Big Rock Candy Mountain
    A3 You Are My Sunshine
    A4 Down To The River To Pray
    A5 I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow (Radio Station Version)
    B1 Hard Time Killing Floor Blues
    B2 I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow (Instrumental)
    B3 Keep On The Sunny Side
    B4 I'Ll Fly Away
    B5 Didn'T Leave Nobody But The Baby
    C1 In The Highways
    C2 I Am Weary (Let Me Rest)
    C3 I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow (Instrumental)
    C4 O Death
    C5 In The Jailhouse Now
    D1 I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow (With Band)
    D2 Indian War Whoop
    D3 Lonesome Valley
    D4 Angel Band