Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Tricky – Maxinquaye

Sold out
Original price $55.00 - Original price $55.00
Original price
$55.00 - $55.00
Current price $55.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Around the time Tricky emerged as a solo artist, independent of the Massive Attack collective, he was asked to describe his music. "If you want to dance to it, go ahead. If you want to sit in a darkened room and let it fill your head with strange thoughts, that's fine too". "Trip Hop", a term Tricky soon grew to despise, has become so omnipresent over the years, that it's easy to forget how outside the mainstream it once was. Tricky's 1995 debut 'Maxinquaye' is one of those albums that brought the music to the forefront, entering the UK charts at #2 on its release despite a shocking lack of airplay, and ending up topping many, many year-end lists.

    But despite its being a harbinger of one of the most prevalent music styles of the nineties, it exists outside of trends and time and still stands as a powerhouse of musical innovation almost twenty years on. Vocalists Martina Topley-Bird and Goldfrapp work as modern day female Pied Pipers, luring you into Tricky's dark, menacing, haunting and overall disturbing world: a ghostly Hades painted in vivid imagery by Tricky's lisping and lilting flow on top of tantalizing beats. An essential album for any collection if ever there was one.


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (1,417 votes)
  • Artist: Tricky
    Label: 4th & Broadway, Music On Vinyl
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Electronic
  • A1 Overcome
    A2 Ponderosa
    A3 Black Steel
    A4 Hell Is Round The Corner
    A5 Pumpkin
    A6 Aftermath
    B1 Abbaon Fat Tracks
    B2 Brand New You’Re Retro
    B3 Suffocated Love
    B4 You Don’T
    B5 Strugglin’
    B6 Feed Me