Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

The Clash – The Clash

Original price $48.00 - Original price $48.00
Original price
$48.00 - $48.00
Current price $48.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • As punk rockers of the first hours, The Clash delivered a milestone of the genre with their debut album "The Clash" in 1977.

    "I haven't got any illusions about anything," Joe Strummer said. "Having said that, I still want to try to change things." That youthful ambition bursts through the Clash's debut, a machine-gun blast of songs about unemployment ("Career Opportunities"), race ("White Riot"), the Clash themselves ("Clash City Rockers") and the sick English music industry ("[White Man] In Hammersmith Palais"). Most of the guitar was played by Mick Jones, because Strummer considered studio technique insufficiently punk. The American release was delayed two years and replaced some of the U.K. tracks with recent singles, including "Complete Control" – a complaint about exactly that sort of record-company shenanigans.

    From Rolling Stone


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (2,655 votes)
  • Artist: The Clash
    Label: Columbia, Legacy, Sony Music
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Style: Punk
  • A1 Janie Jones
    A2 Remote Control
    A3 I'M So Bored With The U.S.A.
    A4 White Riot
    A5 Hate & War
    A6 What'S My Name
    A7 Deny
    A8 London'S Burning
    B1 Career Opportunities
    B2 Cheat
    B3 Protex Blue
    B4 Police & Thieves
    B5 48 Hours
    B6 Garageland