Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Taj Mahal – Taj Mahal

Sold out
Original price $58.00 - Original price $58.00
Original price
$58.00 - $58.00
Current price $58.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Taj Mahal is an American blues musician. He is a self-taught singer-songwriter as well as a film music composer and plays a number of other instruments in addition to guitar, banjo and harmonica. Mahaöl often incorporates elements of world music into his work and has had a major influence on blues music during his 50 year career. He fuses blues sounds with non-traditional forms of music and sounds from the Caribbean, Africa and the South Pacific.

    "Taj Mahal" is his debut album. "Diving Duck Blues" sounds a bit like the early Cream albums, "The Celebrated Walkin 'Blues" is reminiscent of the late Muddy Waters. "Statesboro Blues", originally written by Blind Willie Mctell or Robert Johnson's "Dust My Broom" can also be heard.

    Taj Mahal received nine Grammy nominations, of which it has won two to date. In 2006 he became known as the official blues "Artist of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts", and in 2014 he was awarded the "Americana Music Association's Lifetime Achievement" award for his life's work.

    "He succeeded the most in the final› Celebrated Walkin 'Blues ‹, where the former farmhand blows a harp as strong as a bear. Music On Vinyl has produced a neatly crafted reissue of the stereo version." (Good Times, August / September 2017)
  • Artist: Taj Mahal
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Blues
  • A1 Leaving Trunk
    A2 Statesboro Blues
    A3 Checkin' Up On My Baby
    A4 Everybody'S Got To Change Sometime
    B1 E Z Rider
    B2 Dust My Broom
    B3 Diving Duck Blues
    B4 The Celebrated Walkin' Blues