Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Sufjan Stevens – Seven Swans

Original price $55.00 - Original price $55.00
Original price
$55.00 - $55.00
Current price $55.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • When I met Sufjan some time back, he was co-organizing an arts event that we were performing at in New York called »Christ A Go-Go«. The picture I have in my mind from that time is of Sufjan always being somewhere else in the room. »There's Sufjan over there, you have to meet him and hear his music-he's great«, his proud friend Melissa boasted. When I finally met Sufjan, he seemed reserved and he didn't really want to talk about his music. I don't remember what happened after that, but now Sufjan is a very good friend to my family and me.

    For about a year my two-year-old daughter wanted to marry »uncle Suf«. Some people leave New York City for the weekend and go to the Hamptons; Sufjan takes a bus down to Clarksboro, NJ and we love to have him every time. Sufjan and I have been playing shows together. I have asked him to dress up in silly outfits and fill various roles in Danielson Famile shows, and he has been so gracious and helpful. But even more importantly, many times Sufjan has opened up the evening sharing his own songs on borrowed banjos and guitars. I love to watch people hear and see Sufjan perform his songs. At times Sufjan stands alone on the stage singing and playing quietly with a banjo, and what you hear and see and feel is pure power. Minds and hearts are changed. Sufjan Stevens writes songs. He also writes fiction, is a record producer, plays every instrument known to modern man, is a graphic designer, and has knitted for Martha Stewart.

    But »Seven Swans« is a testament to Sufjan's songwriting, first and foremost. The songs are the foundation, and Sufjan's voice, the instruments, and his friends all dance around the songs to celebrate where they come from. Where do they come from? I am honored to know Sufjan and to be presenting his new album »Seven Swans«. Enjoy. (Daniel Smith, Clarksburg 2004)


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (530 votes)
  • Artist: Sufjan Stevens
    Label: Asthmatic Kitty Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 All The Trees Of The Field Will Clap Their Hands
    A2 The Dress Looks Nice On You
    A3 In The Devils Territory
    A4 To Be Alone With You
    A5 Abraham
    A6 Sister
    B1 Size Too Small
    B2 We Won'T Need Legs To Stand
    B3 A Good Man Is Hard To Find
    B4 He Woke Me Up Again
    B5 Seven Swans
    B6 The Transfiguration