Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Sufjan Stevens – Carrie & Lowell

Sold out
Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Bombast was yesterday. Carrie & Lowell, the new album by Sufjan Stevens, is a return of the personal kind. Intimate and overwhelming. The album - named after Stevens' mother and stepfather - is a return to Stevens' folk roots.

    Thematically, the 11 songs deal with life and death, love and loss, and the artist's struggle to understand love in all its beauty and ugliness. Carrie & Lowell was recorded by Stevens himself. With Casey Foubert, Laura Veirs, Nedelle Torrisi, Sean Carey, Ben Lester and Thomas Bartlett. Mixed by Stevens, Bartlett and Pat Dillet.

    Sufjan Stevens currently lives in Brooklyn, NY. His penchant for epic concepts moved him to two stateside albums (Michigan & Illinois), a collection of sacred and biblical songs (Seven Swans), an electronic album for the animals of the Chinese Zodiac (Enjoy Your Rabbit), two Christmas box sets (Songs for Christmas, vol. 1-5 and Silver & Gold, vol. 6-10) and a groundbreaking tone poem commissioned by the Brooklyn Academy of Music, or BAM, for the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway (The BQE).

    In 2010, Stevens released a format-busting EP (All Delighted People) and the full-length album The Age of Adz, a collection of songs at least partially inspired by Outsider artist Royal Robertson.


    "Once again Stevens shows his qualities on guitar, banjo and piano, creating romantic, elegiac song miniatures with no percussion, no electronica and showing himself to be an atmospheric arranger with lo-fi charm." (Audio, June 2015).


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (1,252 votes)
  • Artist: Sufjan Stevens
    Label: Asthmatic Kitty Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
    Style: Folk, Folk Rock
  • A1 Death With Dignity
    A2 Should Have Known Better
    A3 All Of Me Wants All Of You
    A4 Drawn To The Blood
    A5 Fourth Of July
    B1 The Only Thing
    B2 Carrie & Lowell
    B3 Eugene
    B4 John My Beloved
    B5 No Shade In The Shadow Of The Cross
    B6 Blue Bucket Of Gold