Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Sarah Vaughan – Sarah Vaughan (180g, Mono, EmArcy, Acoustic Sounds Series)

Sold out
Original price $82.00 - Original price $82.00
Original price
$82.00 - $82.00
Current price $82.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • This 1954 studio date, a self-titled album recorded for Emarcy, was later re-released as Sarah Vaughan with Clifford Brown to mark the involvement of one of the top trumpeters of the time. Vaughan sings nine intimate standards with a band that includes Brown on trumpet, Herbie Mann on flute and Paul Quinichette on tenor, each of which has plenty of room for solos (most songs are close to the five-minute mark). In these recordings Sarah Vaughan is probably in the best vocal form of her career. She pauses and lingers at notes to the standards "April in Paris", "Jim" and "Lullaby of Birdland". As poignant as Vaughan is, Brown is almost equal to her in his solos on "Lullaby of Birdland", "Jim" and "September Song", showing his incredible bop virtuosity in a restrained setting, without sacrificing the simple feeling of his notes or the extraordinary flair of his selection.

    In the quest for definitive audiophile versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve Label Group and Universal Music Enterprises are utilizing the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production expertise of Quality Record Pressings for the new audiophile Acoustic Sounds vinyl re-edition series. All tracks are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed onto 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality hinged sleeves with tip-on jackets. The releases are overseen by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world's largest source of audiophile recordings.
  • Artist: Sarah Vaughan
    Label: EmArcy, UMe, Verve Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Jazz
  • A1 Lullaby Of Birdland
    A2 April In Paris
    A3 He'S My Guy
    A4 Jim
    B1 You'Re Not The Kind
    B2 Embraceable You
    B3 I'M Glad There Is You
    B4 September Song
    B5 It'S Crazy