Skip to content
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!

Sampa The Great – The Return (2xLP)

Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne


Sampa The Great creates a feeling of home on her debut album "The Return". A characteristic record whose reference points range from classical hip hop to old South African traditions

At "The Return" Sampa has won a number of respected musical partners and collaborators for the production of the album. Mixed by Jonwayne (Stones Throw), MsM (Skepta/ Boy Better Know) and Andrei Eremin (GRAMMY nominated for his collaborations with Hiatus Kaiyote and Chet Faker), the productions are by Silentjay, Slowthai producer Kwes Darko, Clever Austin (Perrin Moss/ Hiatus Kiayote), Blue Lab Beats and Syreniscreamy.

The album also features collaborations with Ecca Vandal and the London jazz collective Steam Down. Many of them come from a network Sampa has built since she first appeared on Sydney's hip hop and jazz freestyle nights in 2015 as a newcomer after studying in San Francisco and L.A.. Since then she has performed with Denzel Curry on his breakout track "Black Balloons" for Triple J's "Like A Version" session and toured the world with Kendrick Lamar, Ms. Lauryn Hill, Thundercat, Joey Bada$$$, Hiatus Kaiyote, Noname, Ibeyi and Little Simz.

Release details

Artist: Sampa The Great
Label: Ninja Tune
Units: 2
Country: Europe
Released: 2019
Genre: Hip Hop


A1 Mwana
A2 Freedom
A3 Wake Up (Interlude)
A4 Time'S Up
A5 Grass Is Greener
B1 Dare To Fly
B2 Any Day
B3 Omg
B4 Light It Up (Interlude)
B5 Final Form
B6 Heaven
C1 Diamond In The Ruff
C2 Leading Us Home
C3 Summer
C4 Brand New
D1 Give Love (Interlude)
D2 The Return
D3 Don'T Give Up
D4 Made Us Better