Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Rage Against The Machine – Rage Against The Machine

Original price $42.00 - Original price $42.00
Original price
$42.00 - $42.00
Current price $42.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Rage Against the Machine is the eponymous debut studio album by American rock band Rage Against the Machine, released on November 3, 1992 by Epic Records. The album peaked at number 1 on the US Billboard Heatseekers chart and number 45 on the US Billboard 200.


    Rage Against the Machine received high critical acclaim. In a contemporary review, NME wrote that "what makes RATM more than just another bunch of prodigiously capable genre-benders is their total lack of pretension or contrivance ... the results burn with an undeniable conviction." Q magazine deemed it "a record of real attitude and energy", while Los Angeles Times critic Robert Hilburn hailed it as "a striking, politically conscious debut" and de la Rocha "a bona fide star who combines on stage a Bob Marley-like charisma and a Chuck D.-style rap command -- and the music itself is as tough and relentless as his raps." Robert Christgau was somewhat less impressed in The Village Voice, summing it up as "metal for rap-lovers—and opera-haters" while naming "Know Your Enemy" and "Wake Up" as highlights. AllMusic reviewer Eduardo Rivadavia wrote in a retrospective review, "it was the first album to successfully merge the seemingly disparate sounds of rap and heavy metal", he also praised the album's "meaningful rhymes and emotionally charged conviction" calling it "essential".

    In 2001, Q named Rage Against the Machine as one of the 50 Heaviest Albums Of All Time. The album is included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. In 2012, the album was ranked number 365 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time[20] and number 24 on the magazine's list of "100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time".

    BBC Radio 1 DJ Zane Lowe named Rage Against the Machine as one of four 'Masterpieces', and his favorite, on December 2, 2008. In October 2011, Rage Against the Machine was ranked number five on Guitar World magazine's top ten list of guitar albums of 1992.


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (3,306 votes)
  • Label: Epic Associated, Legacy, Sony Music
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Style: Funk Metal
  • A1 Bombtrack
    A2 Killing In The Name
    A3 Take The Power Back
    A4 Settle For Nothing
    A5 Bullet In The Head
    B1 Know Your Enemy
    B2 Wake Up
    B3 Fistful Of Steel
    B4 Township Rebellion
    B5 Freedom