Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Ólafur Arnalds, Alice Sara Ott – The Chopin Project

Original price $52.00 - Original price $52.00
Original price
$52.00 - $52.00
Current price $52.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Award-winning Icelandic pop / classical musician Ólafur Arnalds had always been deeply moved by Chopin's piano music, but had grown increasingly weary of the ever-same and standardized "perfection" of relevant recordings. So the urge grew in him to approach Chopin differently with his own recording interpretation. "Why should we use the technology at our disposal only as a tool and not also as a means of interpretation? Why shouldn't the microphones, the space - the sound - also be contributors to the performance?" In partnership with the magnificent German-Japanese pianist Alice Sara Ott, The Chopin Project was created.

    With his selection of Chopin works, Arnalds spanned an emotional arc for the CD, composing intermezzi for string quintet, piano and synthesizer inspired by the atmosphere and motifs of these pieces. In the production process, Ott and Arnalds created an intimate, fragile and often charmingly imperfect sound using old, unusual or prepared pianos, recorded using old-fashioned recording equipment.

    The result is a unique musical contemplation of Chopin's works by two exceptional artists.
  • Artist: Ólafur Arnalds, Alice Sara Ott
    Label: Mercury Classics
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Electronic
    Style: Contemporary
  • A1 Verses
    A2 Piano Sonata No.3: Largo
    A3 Nocturne In C Sharp Minor
    A4 Reminiscence
    A5 Nocturne In G Minor
    B1 Eyes Shut / Nocturne In C Minor
    B2 Written In Stone
    B3 Letters Of A Traveller
    B4 Prélude In D Flat Major ("Raindrop")