Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Mitski – Laurel Hell (Coloured Vinyl)

Sold out
Original price $58.00 - Original price $58.00
Original price
$58.00 - $58.00
Current price $58.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • We don't usually look to pop albums to find an answer to our cultural situation, let alone to satisfy the soul's hunger for global catastrophe. But occasionally an artist proves that the form is more malleable and inclusive than we knew. With Laurel Hell, Mitski underpins her reputation as an artist in possession of such power - able to use her talent to perform the alchemy that transforms our wildest and most alienated experiences into the elixir that heals them.

    Her critically beloved latest album, Be The Cowboy, built on the success of 2016's Puberty 2 and transformed her from cult favorite to indie star. Her rise came amid a fevered national divide, and the grind of touring and the pitfalls of increased visibility affected her music as much as her spirit. Like the laurel mountain after which the new album is named, public perception, like the intoxicating prism of the internet, can offer a tantalizing facade that hides a deadly trap - one that tightens the more you struggle. Exhausted by this distorted mirror and our addiction to false binaries, she began writing songs that strip away the masks and reveal the complex and often contradictory realities behind them

    She wrote many of these songs during or before 2018, while the album finished mixing in May 2021. It's the longest period of time Mitski has ever taken to make an album, and a process that ended in the midst of a radically changed world. She recorded Laurel Hell with her longtime producer Patrick Hyland in the isolation of a global pandemic, during which some of the songs "slowly took on new forms and meanings, like seeds to flower" Sometimes it's hard to see change when you're the one causing it, but for the lucky rest of us, Mitski has written a soundtrack for transformation, a map to the place where vulnerability and resilience, grief and joy, flaws and transcendence can all have a place in our humanity and be seen as worthy of recognition and, ultimately, love.
  • Artist: Mitski
    Label: Dead Oceans
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: USA & Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
    Style: Indie Rock
  • A1 Valentine, Texas
    A2 Working For The Knife
    A3 Stay Soft
    A4 Everyone
    A5 Heat Lightning
    B1 The Only Heartbreaker
    B2 Love Me More
    B3 There'S Nothing Left For You
    B4 Should'Ve Been Me
    B5 I Guess
    B6 That'S Our Lamp