Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Matthew Halsall – Colour Yes (2xLP)

Sold out
Original price $68.00 - Original price $68.00
Original price
$68.00 - $68.00
Current price $68.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Matthew Halsall (born September 11, 1983 in Manchester, England) is a worldwide award-winning and MOBO nominated trumpeter, composer, producer and DJ. Since 2008, Matthew has released seven critically acclaimed studio recordings and has been a key figure in the development of a new jazz sound in the UK. In addition to his own releases, Halsall has worked with many DJs and producers, most notably DJ Shadow and Mr. Scruff, and in 2013, Matthew's music was selected by Bonobo for his Late Night Tales compilation.

    Halsall is also the founder of Gondwana Records, an independent record label that stands out for its genre and features rich albums such as Portico Quartet, GoGo Penguin, Hania Rani and Mammal Hands. His own rich music is based on the spiritual jazz of Alice Coltrane and Pharoah Sanders, contemporary electronics and dance music in addition to his trips to Japan, whose traditional art and music have left a lasting mark on his compositions.

    Sending My Love (2008) and Color Yes (2009) were his first releases, documenting Halsall's first major bands with flautists such as Chip Wickham, saxophonist Nat Birchall, harpist Rachael Gladwin, bassist Gavin Barras and drummer Gaz Hughes. Happy, fun-loving albums inspired by British jazz and spiritual jazz, but with a decidedly modern bounce, introduced Halsall's music into the world and garnered support from Gilles Peterson and Jamie Cullum, Mojo, Straight No Chaser and others.
  • Artist: Matthew Halsall
    Label: Gondwana Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: UK
    Genre: Jazz
    Style: Modal
  • A1 Colour Yes
    A2 Together
    A3 I'Ve Found Joy
    A4 Mudita
    B5 Me And You
    C6 I'Ve Been Here Before
    D7 It'S What We Do (Bonus Track)
    D8 Ai (Bonus Track)