Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Loyle Carner – Not Waving, But Drowning

Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Not Waving, But Drowning is the title of Loyle Carners new album and it provides - if at all necessary - even more proof that the 24-year-old Londoner still has what rappers call "flow". And he has not lost any of his qualities as a contemporary storyteller

    Yes, the boy can rap, but remains a rapper with the sensitivity of a true poet, the powers of observation of a writer and the gentleness of your best friend. The album begins with a letter to his mother, in which he tells her that he has found the love of his life and that he will move out for this reason. He loves this woman, but he also loves his mother and so he assures her that there will be no competition

    Loyle always refers to real life. Not Waving, But Drowning is peppered with moments he's recorded on his cell phone. These range from conversations with taxi drivers to the moment when the English national team scores a goal. The title of his debut album Yesterday's Gone is taken from a song his stepfather wrote, and the title of his new album is taken from a poem his grandfather wrote, which in turn is based on a Stevie Smith poem. What you hear on the track Krispy is real.
  • Artist: Loyle Carner
    Label: AMF Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: UK
    Genre: Hip Hop & RnB
  • A1 Dear Jean
    A2 Angel
    A3 Ice Water
    A4 Ottolenghi
    A5 You Don’T Know
    A6 Still
    A7 It’S Coming Home?
    B1 Desoleil (Brilliant Corners)
    B2 Loose Ends
    B3 Not Waving, But Drowning
    B4 Krispy
    B5 Sail Away Freestyle
    B6 Looking Back
    B7 Carluccio
    B8 Dear Ben