Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard – Butterfly 3001 (2xLP, Morpho Wax Edition)

Original price $65.00 - Original price $65.00
Original price
$65.00 - $65.00
Current price $65.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Butterfly 3001 is the first remix album by Australian psychedelic rock band King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, released in January 2022 via KGLW.

    In December 2021, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard announced Butterfly 3001, a remix album of their most recent studio album, and released two singles from the album “Neu Butterfly” (Peaches Remix) and “Shanghai” (Dub by The Scientist).

    In a press release, King Gizzard’s Joey Walker elaborated: “We’ve put off doing a remix album for a long time. Maybe it was conscious, maybe it wasn’t. But it’s happening now. That’s not to say that Butterfly 3000 makes the most sense to remix. It might seem like the obvious one, but it’s not. Yes it’s electronic. But so is a fridge. Have you tried to dance to Butterfly? It’s hard. It ties your shoelaces together. It’s duplicitous in its simplicity. But Butterfly 3001 expands on this. It also deviates and obliterates. We’re honoured to have such esteemed people go to work on these songs. We hope you love this album as much as we do. See you in DA CLUB!!!”

    For their “Neu Butterfly” remix, Peaches “wanted to make this remix sound like a lizard. Slippery wet and scaly dry. Something that wiggles through wide open spaces… with slits for eyeballs…. And danceable."

    Legendary producer The Scientist says “I’ve always enjoyed being able to apply my dub mixing techniques to music outside of the typical ‘reggae mold.’ The music of KGLW, and specifically the song ‘Shanghai,’ provided me with the perfect landscape to be able to create something sonically rich and exciting for the listener. KGLW fans and dub-reggae fans, alike, will enjoy this song very much.”

    This double album 2LP record set is a limited edition of 3001 copies on morpho coloured vinyl housed in a single pocket die-cut with plain yellow inner sleeves and a recycled cardboard sleeve as a shrink wrap alternative, pressed in Australia via KGLW.

  • Label: KGLW
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: Australia
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Black Hot Soup (Dj Shadow “My Own Reality” Re-Write)1
    A2 Shanghai Dub By The Scientist
    A3 Shanghai
    A4 Dreams Instrumental Mix
    A5 Blue Morpho
    B1 Blue Morpho
    B2 Blue Morpho (Ciel'S Fluttering Dub)
    B3 Blue Morpho
    B4 Catching Smoke Instrumental Re-Freak
    C1 Ya Love (Fascinating Haircut Re-Do)
    C2 Ya Love
    C3 Ya Love (Playing W/ Fire Mix)
    C4 2.02 Killer Year (Bullant’S Fuck Mike Love Remix)
    D1 Yours (Journey Mix)
    D2 Butterfly 3000
    D3 Neu Butterfly 3000 Remix