Skip to content
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!

Johnny Cash – At Folsom Prison (2xLP)

Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne


"The Man In Black", who died in 2003, was synonymous with country music for a good forty years. Johnny Cash is a record holder without precedent in Country Music. Since his record debut in 1955, he has recorded more than 2,500 songs and had almost 150 hits in the Billboard Country Charts, including 14 Number One hits, which together held the top spot on the charts for 68 weeks. After a tough childhood (he was already working in the cotton fields on his father's farm when he was 5 years old) Johnny Cash, born on February 26, 1932 in Kingsland / Arkansas, joined the Air Force, where he spent his three years of service in Germany in Landsberg am Lech near Augsburg in Bavaria.

This is also where he wrote his first songs, which he presented in 1955 on Sun Records, the legendary label of Elvis Presley discoverer Sam Phillips. He wanted to start a career as a gospel singer, but was turned down by Phillips with the words that he should come back with something more commercial. Cash submitted the song "Hey Porter" and immediately got a record deal.

His second single, "Folsom Prison Blues" took Johnny to the top of the country charts and brought him nationwide popularity. His third single "I Walk The Line" also reached the pole position of the hit lists. Among the best (and most successful) album in Johnny Cash's career is his 1968 work "Johnny Cash At Folsom Prison", recorded in front of an audience of 2,000 inmates and their guards in the infamous California penitentiary

,, ... But also because this magic captured on CD is between Prisoners and artists is almost tangible: an incomparable exchange of energy and tension." (sono, 04 / 05.2011)

ME/Sounds 11 / 99: "The 1968 released 'At Folsom Prison' is now available digitally remastered on Silberling - 19 cash classics with amazingly on the circumstances appropriate content ("Busted", "The Wall", "I Still Miss The Dungeon," "Cocaine Blues," "Folsom Prison Blues") in a strangely exciting atmosphere, which could not be more authentic."


AllMusic rating:
AllMusic users:
(1,243 votes)

Release details

Artist: Johnny Cash
Label: Columbia, Legacy, Sony Music
Units: 2
Country: Europe
Released: 2015
Style: Country


A1 Opening Announcements From Hugh Cherry
A2 Blue Suede Shoes
A3 This Ole House
A4 Announcements And Johnny Cash Intro From Hugh Cherry
A5 Folsom Prison Blues
A6 Busted
A7 Dark As A Dungeon
A8 I Still Miss Someone
B1 Cocaine Blues
B2 25 Minutes To Go
B3 I'M Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail
B4 Orange Blossom Special
B5 The Long Black Veil
C1 Send A Picture Of Mother
C2 The Wall
C3 Dirty Old Egg-Sucking Dog
C4 Flushed From The Bathroom Of Your Heart
C5 Joe Bean
C6 Jackson
C7 I Got A Woman
D1 The Legend Of John Henry'S Hammer
D2 June'S Poem
D3 Green, Green Grass Of Home
D4 Greystone Chapel
D5 Closing Announcements