Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

J.J. Cale/ Troubadour (180g, QRP, Analogue Productions)

Sold out
Original price $78.00 - Original price $78.00
Original price
$78.00 - $78.00
Current price $78.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • JJ Cale, much like Nick Drake and Alex Chilton, is an artist whose genius and influence are far more far-reaching than his name recognition. At Acoustic Sounds, he is one of our favourite musicians. Through this exceptional reissue by Analogue Productions on 200g vinyl pressed by Quality Record Pressings, Cale can now be heard performing his signature hits like "Cocaine" in a sound that is more dynamic and real than ever before!

    "Troubadour," released in 1976, is notable in that it introduces "Cocaine," which Clapton covered a year later on his album Slowhand. Producer Audie Ashworth brought in some other instruments, notably vibraphone and horns (though none are noted), for a slightly different sound. One critic notes Cale's drugged-up brand of rhythmic, spooky storytelling is by no means easy to characterise.

    Cale's signature low-key, reflective country rock style offers ample snapshots of life and love on the road that are addictive in an unconventional way. Critic James Burke finds all the songs on "Troubadour" to be excellent. The warhorse "Cocaine" is far more intriguing, menacing and world-weary in its original version than Clapton's fast-paced take. The uncharacteristically dynamic "Travelin 'Light" is a whispered invitation to wander - half fascination, half warning. "Troubadour" is a timeless recording of the greatest caliber.
  • Artist: J.J. Cale
    Label: Analogue Productions
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Hey Baby
    A2 Travelin' Light
    A3 You Got Something
    A4 Ride Me High
    A5 Hold On
    A6 Cocaine
    B1 I'M A Gypsy Man
    B2 The Woman That Got Away
    B3 Super Blue
    B4 Let Me Do It To You
    B5 Cherry
    B6 You Got Me On So Bad