Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Jim Sullivan – If The Evening Were Dawn (Light in the Attic)

Save 21% online Save 21% online
Original price $38.00
Original price $38.00 - Original price $38.00
Original price $38.00
Current price $30.00
$30.00 - $30.00
Current price $30.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • On March 4, 1975, Jim Sullivan mysteriously disappeared near Santa Rosa, New Mexico. His VW Beetle was found abandoned, his motel room appeared untouched. Some think he was lost. Others think the mafia sunk him. Some even think he was abducted by aliens. By coincidence - or maybe not - Jim's 1969 debut album was titled "U.F.O." It was released in tiny quantities on a private label and was also truly forgotten until Light In The Attic Records re-released it. The "U.F.O." Reissue gave the world an overlooked masterpiece and won Jim Sullivan, posthumously (presumably), legions of new fans

    "If The Evening Were Dawn" features 10 solo acoustic recordings that have never seen the light of day. While "U.F.O." was backed by legendary sessioners The Wrecking Crew, this is Jim Sullivan on his own terms, stripped down but as soulful as ever. Recorded in a Los Angeles studio circa 1969, the session features acoustic versions of a handful of "U.F.O." Tracks as well as half a dozen previously unheard songs. So this is probably the closest thing to what is known among fans as the legendary Malibu bar performances where Sullivan was first noticed. According to his widow Barbara, this was the album Jim had always hoped to record. It serves as an unprecedented glimpse into the mysterious, larger-than-life figure who has become the stuff of legend

    This recording is an unexpected missing piece of the puzzle and Jim Sullivan's true swan song. While Sullivan's disappearance remains unsolved, his music endures, bringing him long-overdue, well-deserved recognition.
  • Artist: Jim Sullivan
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Country
    Style: Acoustic
  • A1 Roll Back The Time
    A2 Sandman
    A3 Walls
    A4 Jerome
    A5 What To Tell Her
    B1 Grandpa'S Trip
    B2 So Natural
    B3 Whistle Stop / Mama
    B4 What Is My Name?
    B5 Close My Eyes