Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Hailu Mergia – Shemonmuanaye (2xLP)

Sold out
Original price $58.00 - Original price $58.00
Original price
$58.00 - $58.00
Current price $58.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Halu Mergia is a one-man band. In 1985, the master accordionist and veteran bandleader/arranger/keyboardist released the cassette ,,Hailu Mergia & His Classical Instrument". Full of nostalgia for the old accordion sound of his youth, Mergia gave Ethiopian music a new face.

    Already celebrated for the pioneering ethio-jazz of Addis Ababa's funk band Walias Band, Mergia perfected contemporary techniques to polish up the sound of yesteryear. A Moog synthesiser, a Rhodes electric organ and a drum machine made the harmonic sound of his accordion even richer; Mergia created elegantly arranged, ghostly psychedelic instrumentals. The songs were based on traditional and modern Ethiopian songs, in which Mergia fantastically blended Amhara, Tigrinya and Oromo melodies with flavours from around the world, jazz and blues, creating a lush, futuristic soundscape. Mergia balanced the melodic form of Ethiopian music with analogue synth elements entwined around minimal rhythm tracks.

  • Artist: Hailu Mergia
    Label: Awesome Tapes From Africa
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: US
    Genre: World
    Style: African
  • A1 Shemonmuanaye
    A2 Sewnetuwa
    B1 Laloye
    B2 Wegene
    B3 Hari Meru Meru
    C1 Amrew Demkew
    C2 Anchin Alay Alegn
    C3 Ambasel
    D1 Hebo Lale
    D2 Belew Beduby
    D3 Shilela