Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Jazzmatazz Volume: 1 – Guru

by Virgin
On order
Original price $48.00 - Original price $48.00
Original price
$48.00 - $48.00
Current price $48.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Guru's Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1 is the debut solo studio album by American hip hop recording artist Guru, released on May 18, 1993 on Chrysalis Records. It was one of the first albums to combine a live jazz band with hip hop production and rapping, as well as the first such project to feature established rappers. Live backing is provided by a band that includes Lonnie Liston Smith, Branford Marsalis, Ronny Jordan, Donald Byrd and Roy Ayers. The album also features vocal collaborations with Carleen Anderson, N'Dea Davenport of the Brand New Heavies, D. C. Lee and French rapper MC Solaar. The variety of guest artists adds diversity and originality to each track, and gives the album a distinct jazz feel.

    Guru, quoted in the album's liner notes, talked about his natural affinity for both jazz and rap. "Jazz's mellow tracks, along with the hard rap beat, go hand-in-glove with my voice," he said.

    Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1 peaked at #24 and #91 on Billboard's Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and Billboard 200 albums charts. The single "Trust Me" peaked at #50 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks chart. In spite of the lagging American sales, Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1 was a commercial success in Europe, where jazz was much more popular in the 1990s.
  • Artist: Guru
    Label: Virgin
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Hip Hop & RnB
  • A1 Introduction
    A2 Loungin'
    A3 When You'Re Near
    A4 Transit Ride
    A5 No Time To Play
    A6 Down The Backstreets
    B1 Respectful Dedications
    B2 Take A Look (At Yourself)
    B3 Trust Me
    B4 Slicker Than Most
    B5 Le Bien, Le Mal
    B6 Sights In The City