Skip to content
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!

Duke Pearson – The Phantom (Tone Poet)

Sold out
Condition: Brand New


The sizzling groove of the ten-minute opening track of Duke Pearson's great 1968 album The Phantom sets the stage for one of the least noticed jewels of the Blue Note catalogue. The pianist, composer, arranger and Blue Note stalwart gathered a superb line-up of musicians, including vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, flautist Jerry Dodgion, guitarists Sam Brown and Al Gafa, bassist Bob Cranshaw and the great percussion team with Mickey Roker, Victor Pantojo and "Potato" Valdes on drums and congas. Other highlights include the crisp bossa beat of "Los Ojos Alegres (The Happy Eyes)" and the tender "Say You're Mine", which was first released on Donald Byrd's album The Cat Walk.

Blue Note Tone Poet Series

The Blue Note Tone Poet Series was born out of Blue Note President Don Was's admiration for the exceptional audiophile Blue Note LP reissues presented by Music Matters. He brought Joe Harley (of Music Matters), also known as the "Tone Poet", on board to curate and oversee a series of reissues of the Blue Note label family.

Extreme attention to detail has been put into making them right in every possible way, from the jacket graphics and print quality, to the superior LP mastering (directly from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray, to the superb 180-gram audiophile LP pressing by Record Technology Inc. every aspect of these Blue Note / Tone Poet releases is done to the highest possible standard. This means that you will never find a better version. This is IT.

Blue Note Records' Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and contains fully analog 180g audiophile vinyl reissues mastered from the original master tape in a luxurious gatefold package. Mastering is done by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and the vinyl is pressed at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).

Release details

Artist: Duke Pearson
Label: Blue Note
Format: LP, Album, Reissue, Stereo
Units: 1
Country: US
Released: 2020
Genre: Jazz
Style: Soul-Jazz, Modal


A1 The Phantom
A2 Blues For Alvina
A3 Bunda Amerela (Little Yellow Streetcar)
B1 Los Ojos Alegres (The Happy Eyes)
B2 Say You'Re Mine
B3 The Moana Surf