Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Darondo – Let My People Go

Sold out
Original price $70.00 - Original price $70.00
Original price
$70.00 - $70.00
Current price $70.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • You might have heard Darondo's irresistible soul nugget "Didn't I" - as the opening cut on the Gilles Peterson Digs America compilation. Back in the day he was seen cruising around town in a white Rolls Royce with a "Darondo" license plate. He opened-up for James Brown and lived a colorful lifestyle hanging with folks like the notorious Fillmore Slim. Take a listen to these tracks, released for the first time together on an album, and you may agree that he could have been the next Al Green or Sly Stone. But about 25 years ago Darondo disappeared. Let My People Go is nine tracks long, compiling the three super-rare 7" singles that comprised Darondo's musical career and includes three previously unreleased tracks recently found on a reel of demos. Mixing low-rider soul with blues and r'n'b, he delivered in a variety of styles. From the socially-charged title track to the sexually-driven funk of "Legs" Darondo's raw soul sound is turning heads worldwide.
  • Artist: Darondo
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Soul & Funk
  • A1 Let My People Go
    A2 Legs (Part 1)
    A3 Didn'T I
    A4 I Want Your Love So Bad
    B1 How I Got Over
    B2 My Momma & My Poppa
    B3 Sure Know How To Love Me
    B4 Listen To My Song
    B5 True