Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Bob Marley & The Wailers – Kaya

Sold out
Original price $42.00 - Original price $42.00
Original price
$42.00 - $42.00
Current price $42.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Exodus was still in the UK charts when the follow-up, Kaya, was released on March 23, 1978. This was a testament not only to Bob Marley's phenomenal popularity at the time, but also to the man's impressive work ethic and ability to cope with his deteriorating health.

    The album's biggest hit, "Is This Love", was a suitably gentle take on a universal theme. It reached # 9 in the UK charts, a modest placement for a hit that was ubiquitous at the time and has become a modern pop standard. Another love song, "She's Gone" was an amazing tune that received a throwaway treatment and remains one of Marley's most overlooked gems. As the album's second side progressed, darker clouds gathered, including the mysterious "Misty Morning," the heavily syncopated "Crisis," and the existential brooding of "Running Away," which ended with a raw, distorted, mind-bending rap from Marley , quite unlike his usual vocal performance. The album closed with the unusual, folk-tinged "Time Will Tell" and a typically somber chorus.


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (819 votes)
  • Label: Island Records, Tuff Gong, Universal Music Group International
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Reggae
  • A1 Easy Skanking
    A2 Kaya
    A3 Is This Love
    A4 Sun Is Shining
    A5 Satisfy My Soul
    B1 She'S Gone
    B2 Misty Morning
    B3 Crisis
    B4 Running Away
    B5 Time Will Tell