Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Big Thief – Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You (2xLP)

Original price $65.00 - Original price $65.00
Original price
$65.00 - $65.00
Current price $65.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Pure magic: the new album of Big Thief

    An album that unites the many different aspects of Adrianne Lenker's songwriting and the band - that about sums up the idea behind Big Thief's new album. "Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You" is the title of their fifth studio album, for which the US indie rock band from New York chose a new approach.

    Because, to explore all that makes up the music of Adrianne Lenker, Max Oleartchik, Buck Meek and James Krivchenia, the band decided in 2020 to write and record a "sprawling account of their growth as individuals, musicians and family."

    It took four recording sessions, one in upstate New York, one in Topanga Canyon, one in the Rocky Mountains and one in Tucson, Arizona. Of the recording sessions, Lenker said, "One of the things that keeps us together as a band is pure magic. I think we all have the same guiding principle, and none of us have ever said what it is because we couldn't name it, but somehow we're all striving for the same thing, and when we hit it ... we all know that's what it is, but none of us to this day, or maybe ever, will be able to put into words what the 'it' is. Something about it is magical to me."

    Big Thief spent five months on the production and finally had an incredible 45 finished songs in the can - too many for an album. But that's exactly what the band hoped to get out of this grand experiment, they said. So "Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You" became a double album, on which at least 20 of the tracks, the best ones, made it.

    The album was produced by drummer James Krivchenia. The songs "Change", "Certainty", "Little Things" and "Sparrow" have already been released as singles.


    "With its mix of indie folk, neo-psychedelia and folk rock, Opus 5 is the most stylistically versatile Big Deep album." (Stereo, March 2022)

    "'Dragon ...' is a versatile, ambitious and challenging work ..." (Audio, April 2022)

  • Artist: Big Thief
    Label: 4AD
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: UK & US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
    Style: Indie Rock
  • A1 Change
    A2 Time Escaping
    A3 Spud Infinity
    A4 Certainty
    A5 Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You
    B1 Sparrow
    B2 Little Things
    B3 Heavy Bend
    B4 Flower Of Blood
    B5 Blurred View
    C1 Red Moon
    C2 Dried Roses
    C3 No Reason
    C4 Wake Me Up To Drive
    C5 Promise Is A Pendulum
    D1 12,000 Lines
    D2 Simulation Swarm
    D3 Love Love Love
    D4 The Only Place
    D5 Blue Lightning