Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Angelo Badalamenti – Blue Velvet (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Original price $58.00 - Original price $58.00
Original price
$58.00 - $58.00
Current price $58.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • The 1986 David Lynch film that takes its hat off to the shadow world of Film Noir. Oedipus fantasies, the discovery of a human ear on the way home, voyeurism, crime and retaliation, violence: all of these are present in the film; depraved consumer terror highlighted by a series of strange situations that leave the viewer on the edge of the cinema seat in suspense

    And what kind of soundtrack has to be simple? Of course, a mixture of instrumental orchestral pieces penned by composer and conductor Angelo Badalamenti, who refers to Shostakovich's 15th Symphony (which Lynch is said to have liked to play at the beginning to mark the atmosphere of the film), and trashy Hammond boogie and bombastic baroque pop by ROY ORBISON and KETTY LESTER, which will look good in any doss house jukebox

    This daring mix culminates in Dorothy's (Isabella Rossellini) version of "Blue Velvet", which changes in a wonderfully scary way into "Blue Star", a piece of vintage pop. The soundtrack begins with the Hitchcock-like strings of Bernard Herman and violin outbursts, which pass the time a bit before they play themes and motifs in a disturbing procession, culminating in "Mysteries Of Love" by JULEE CRUISE. It's a cyclical journey that takes us back to the beginning and yes, there is that torn off ear again, now besieged by ants, proving that dreams can come true - or is it reality that becomes a dream?

  • Artist: Angelo Badalamenti
    Label: Varèse Sarabande
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Soundtracks
    Style: Soundtrack
  • A1 Main Title
    A2 Night Streets / Sandy And Jeffrey
    A3 Frank
    A4 Jeffrey'S Dark Side
    A5 Mysteries Of Love (French Horn Solo)
    A6 Frank Returns
    A7 Mysteries Of Love (Instrumental)
    Sound Effects Suite
    B3 Akron Meets The Blues
    B4 Honky Tonk Part I
    B5 In Dreams
    B6 Love Letters
    B7 Mysteries Of Love