Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

The Source – Ali Farka Touré (2xLP)

Sold out
Original price $70.00 - Original price $70.00
Original price
$70.00 - $70.00
Current price $70.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Ali Farka Touré's third album, "The Source" from 1992, opened the doors for the legendary Malian singer and guitarist. For many fans it is still his masterpiece and through this record also Ry Cooder became aware of him.

    After this release they recorded the Grammy winning album "Talking Timbuktu". "The Source" contains two duets with Taj Mahal as well as the first recordings of Farka Touré with Asco, a band with musicians from his hometown Niafunké with singer Afel Bocoum, Hamma Sankare (Kalebasse) and Oumar Touré (Congas).

    In the midst of this intimate, reduced setting, the father of desert blues repeatedly begins his hypnotic guitar solos

    Now "The Source" comes out on vinyl for the first time ever. But it was remixed by the original master tapes and contains with "Tambaka" a previously unreleased song from the same sessions.


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (49 votes)
  • Label: World Circuit
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: Europe
    Genre: World
    Style: African
  • A1 Goye Kur
    A2 Inchana Massina
    A3 Roucky
    B1 Dofana
    B2 Karaw
    C1 Hawa Dolo
    C2 Cinquante Six
    C3 I Go Ka
    D1 Yenna
    D2 Mahini Me
    D3 Takamba (Previously Unreleased)