Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Crowded House

Crowded House are a rock band formed in Melbourne, Australia, in 1985. Originally active from 1985 to 1996. The founding members were New Zealander (vocalist, guitarist, primary songwriter) and Australians (drums) and (bass). Later band members included Neil Finn's brother Tim Finn, and Americans and .

Mark Hart who had toured with the group joined as a permanent member in 1993. Founding drummer Hester left in the band in May 1994 citing family reasons. He briefly returned for their "Farewell to the World" concerts in Melbourne and Sydney in 1996 and also played on three new tracks recorded for the album "Recurring Dream" (1996). His replacement was Peter Jones who remained with the group until they disbanded in 1996.

On 26 March 2005, Hester died by suicide. In 2006, the group re-formed with new drummer Matt Sherrod and released two further albums in 2007 and 2010.

In November 2016 they were inducted into the ARIA (Australian Recording Industry Association) Hall of Fame.

On 9 December 2019, Neil Finn unveiled via his official web site that the band's new line-up - alongside himself and Seymour - would add , and . As a result, Mark Hart and Matt Sherrod would no longer participate.

The group hold the distinction of being the only New Zealand band to have made it to #2 in the US Billboard Singles chart, with their single "Don't Dream It's Over".