Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Eddie Piller – British Mod Sounds Of The 1960s (2xLP)

Save 24% online Save 24% online
Original price $68.00
Original price $68.00 - Original price $68.00
Original price $68.00
Current price $52.00
$52.00 - $52.00
Current price $52.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Demon is proud to release "Eddie Piller Presents British Mod Sounds Of the 1960s," the follow-up to "The Mod Revival." The album delves deep into the British Mod scene of the 1960s. Featuring a selection of classic and rare tracks that trace the scene from its R&B roots to a soulful finale.

    Curated by Eddie Piller, founder of Acid Jazz Records and Modcast, and with new notes by Paul 'Smiler' Anderson, a respected author and broadcaster.

    As Eddie Piller points out in the foreword to the extensive cover notes for this collection, he chose the word "sounds" carefully to reflect the diversity of talent included here, from uncool session musicians without a hint of style, to acts who saw an opportunity to jump on the mod bandwagon, to bands who embraced the mod lifestyle wholeheartedly.

    And so this new collection mixes the mod mainstays (Small Faces, The High Numbers, The Action, The Fleur De Lys) with a generous selection of future superstars (David Bowie, Rod Stewart, Elton John, Marc Bolan, Jeff Beck and 10cc's Graham Gouldman are represented here) and some artists so obscure and rare they could never release a record in the '60s, but Eddie tracked down the tapes anyway.

    "Once more to be part of the in-crowd".

    Every great youth cult deserves a great soundtrack, and when the '60s Mods adopted classic American R&B with a dash of hip jazz, they undoubtedly found the right music for their exuberant and stylish lifestyle. But buying expensive imports, hoping for a local release or praying for a rare visit from overseas talent was never enough to satisfy British youth's thirst for the latest sounds. Especially not those on the dance floor, and certainly not those with musical ambitions of their own.

    It was a music scene that began with imitation before skill and imagination led curious minds to innovation, a scene that evolved from (at best) average copies of releases on the Chess, Motown and Stax labels to something more sophisticated, something quite unique, something very British.

    All formats are stylishly packaged (of course) and include new liner notes by Paul 'Smiler' Anderson, author of the best-selling and highly regarded books 'Mods: The New Religion" and "Mod Art".

  • Artist: Eddie Piller
    Label: Demon Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 2
    Country: UK
    Genre: Compilations
  • A1 I'M The Face
    A2 Never Ever
    A3 Bus Stop
    A4 Don’T Burst My Bubble
    A5 Sweet Thing
    A6 Two Can Make It Together
    A7 Ain’T No Big Thing
    A8 Michael (The Lover)
    A9 I Take What I Want
    B1 Little By Little
    B2 I’M Out
    B3 Come Back Baby
    B4 Henry’S Panter
    B5 The Organiser (Feat. Harold Smart)
    B6 Soul Sauce
    B7 High Time Baby
    B8 Crawdaddy Simone
    C1 Circles
    C2 Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
    C3 Over Undersideways Down
    C4 How Can It Be
    C5 Making Time
    C6 Jump & Dance
    C7 I’M Rowed Out
    C8 She’S Got Everything
    D1 Soul Serenade
    D2 Crawling Up A Hill
    D3 Emergency 999
    D4 Bert’S Apple Crumble
    D5 Madame Garcia
    D6 Picture Me Gone
    D7 Hold On
    D8 (If You Think You’Re) Groovy
    D9 Everlasting Love