Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Patsy Cline – Patsy Cline's Greatest Hits

Original price $65.00 - Original price $65.00
Original price
$65.00 - $65.00
Current price $65.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • With what eulogy has the immortal singing talent of the great, late Patsy Cline not been showered? She died at the height of her career at the age of 30, at the same time as two other stars of the Grand Ole Opry radio show and her manager, in the plane crash of a private plane near Camden in Tennessee as the group was returning to Nashville from Kansas City. Before that ill-fated flight in 1963, however, she had already left her musical legacy, that of one of the most both influential and successful singers of the 20th century.

    In the late 50s and early 60s, country music was usually represented by singles. This album, first released in 1967, collects a dozen of Patsy's greatest hits - all previously released as singles - including "Walkin' After Midnight", "Sweet Dreams (Of You)", "Crazy" and "I Fall to Pieces".

    Producer Owen Bradley surrounds Cline's full-throated, emotionally charged vocals with lush, sophisticated arrangements that set the standard for Nashville's 'countrypolitan sound'. And, believe us, on this 200g QRP pressing, mastered by Sterling Sound, Cline's seductive vocals sound clearer and more substantial than ever.

    Cline's life and career have been the subject of countless books, films, documentaries, articles and stage plays. Millions of albums have been sold over the past 50 years, giving her cult status among her fans comparable to that of country singers like Johnny Cash and Dolly Parton. In 1992, she was honoured by the US Postal Service with a stamp, just like Hank Williams. In 1995, she was posthumously awarded a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award, and Cline was also honoured with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 1999.

    By the time Shania Twain discovered a new (but not necessarily better) way of combining country and pop in the 90s, this was the best-selling album by a female artist to date.
  • Artist: Patsy Cline
    Label: Decca, MCA Nashville, UMe
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Country
    Style: Country
  • A1 Walking After Midnight
    A2 Sweet Dreams (Of You)
    A3 Crazy
    A4 I Fall To Pieces
    A5 So Wrong
    A6 Strange
    B1 Back In Baby'S Arms
    B2 She'S Got You
    B3 Faded Love
    B4 Why Can'T He Be You
    B5 You'Re Stronger Than Me
    B6 Leavin' On Your Mind