Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

The Dreads At King Tubby's – Various

Original price $35.00 - Original price $35.00
Original price
$35.00 - $35.00
Current price $35.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Everything was truly 'Dread'.
    At the heart of this musical explosion was again Bunny 'Striker' Lee a man who was always at the heart of the action and many times in his career ahead of the musical game. As Bunny Lee's stable of singers were at this time nearly all Rasta's and with the worldwide acceptance of Bob Marley, in especially the foreign territories, this musical style was the way forward for reggae music in the mid 1970's. The visual focal point of this new turn in reggae music would be a call to all things 'Dread'. Add to the mix Bunny Lee's close working relationship with studio wizard King Tubby, again not a Rasta himself, but someone who could sonically bring what was needed to the table and enable the whole musical chemistry to fall into place.
    Heavy rhythms were created to match the heavy and serious lyrics and 'Versions Galore' as they say were coming out fast and furious.

    We have compiled a set of conscious tunes that not only match the 'Dread' criteria, but also are just great tunes. The great Jacob Miller's 'Zion Gates', Cornell Campbells 'Two Faced Rasta', Horace Andy's 'It's Gonna Be Dread' alongside Linval Thompson's 'Never Conquer Jah'. Two timeless cuts from the 'The Abyssinians' get a fresh outing by two great singers, firstly Don Carlos' cut to 'Satta Massaganna' and the prince of reggae himself, Dennis Brown works 'Declaration of Rights' in fine style. Johnny Clarke's 'Man like Me' and 'Dem Say Rasta' still sound as fresh today as when they were first laid down and Wayne Jarrett's 'Live On Jah' and Frankie Jones 'Satta and Praise Jah' add to this great selection. All great 'Dread' tunes that were cut or voiced at King Tubby's giving them that extra shine.

    So if you are Rasta or not this is a great set of tunes to make you move and also like all of the best things in life, make you think.........
  • Artist: Various
    Label: Kingston Sounds
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: UK
    Genre: Reggae
    Style: Dub, Roots Reggae
  • A1 Zion Gates
    A2 Satta Massagana
    A3 Dem A Say Rasta
    A4 It'S Gonna Be Dread
    A5 Declaration Of Rights
    A6 Two Faced Rasta
    A7 Every Rasta Is A Star
    B1 This World
    B2 Man Like Me
    B3 Satta And Praise Jah
    B4 Never Conquer Jah
    B5 Rightess Rasta Man
    B6 Live On Jah
    B7 Wicked Babylon