Skip to content
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!
ALL STOCK is available for LOCAL PICKUP or SHIPPING around OZ!

Various – Quadrophenia (Music From The Soundtrack Of The Who Film) (2xLP)

Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne


Released as a double album in 1973, The Who's rock opera QUADROPHENIA is a conceptual work set in the milieu of the 1960s Mod movement, during which the band began their career in west London. The main character, Jimmy, is a disaffected youth who hates his parents and his modest job, but finds relief from drudgery among his fellow mods by popping pills and riding his scooter to weekend concerts by bands like The Who. But the freedom he finds turns out to be illusory.

The album title comes from the personalities of the four members of The Who, which are meant to represent the four sides of Jimmy. Townshend has described the album as the best music he ever wrote. In 1979 it was made into a film directed by Franc Roddam (with a young Sting in a key role) and was performed live by The Who, sometimes with guest musicians.

Quadrophenia is the vinyl reissue of the soundtrack to the classic and influential 1979 film, adapted by director Franc Roddam from The Who's 1973 rock opera, which led to the self-proclaimed Mod revival in the UK

The double vinyl features a rousing performance by Phil Daniels as Jimmy the malcontent mod. The film is set in 1965 and also stars Leslie Ash, Ray Winstone and Sting. It is set against the backdrop of the struggles of the mods and rockers during that time

The film features 13 The Who tracks, including Love Reign O'er Me and Bell Boy, as well as others - some re-recorded and remixed exclusively for the soundtrack. Also included are 3 tracks that were not on the original 1973 album - Get Out And Stay Out, Four Faces, Joker James, and classic 60s mod era tracks by James Brown, Booker T & The MGs, The Ronettes and others.


AllMusic rating:
AllMusic users:
(287 votes)

Release details

Artist: Various
Label: Polydor, UMC
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue
Units: 2
Country: Europe
Released: 2019


A1 I Am The Sea
A2 The Real Me
A3 I'M One
A4 5.15
A5 Love Reign O'Er Me
B1 Bell Boy
B2 I'Ve Had Enough
B3 Helpless Dancer
B4 Doctor Jimmy
C1 Zoot Suit
C2 Hi Heel Sneakers
C3 Get Out And Stay Out
C4 Four Faces
C5 Joker James
C6 The Punk And The Godfather
D1 Night Train
D2 Louie Louie
D3 Green Onions
D4 Rhythm Of The Rain
D5 He'S So Fine
D6 Be My Baby
D7 Da Doo Ron Ron