Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

The Jam – In The City

Sold out
Original price $45.00 - Original price $45.00
Original price
$45.00 - $45.00
Current price $45.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • n May 1977, a three-piece rock group from Woking appeared on Top Of The Pops. On YouTube, you can see what happened: the host announced an effervescent new 45 number called 'In The City'" and the 140 seconds of wonderment that followed. The song sparkled with the energy and purposefulness that fueled what was called punk and was now mutating into new wave, but it had much more: a melodic charge - as in the glorious opening riff - that betrayed its makers' love of classic British pop, and the clear sense that the band's chief creative force was already thinking like an accomplished songwriter.

    Between 1977 and 1982, the band released an incredible range of music. In the UK there were five albums and 17 singles, a stack of number 1s and a journey that included no end of influences, styles and textures.

    Their debut album, "In The City", was recorded in just 11 days and featured a mix of R&B covers and original compositions, with more than one reference to Wilko Johnson and Pete Townshend.
  • Artist: The Jam
    Label: Polydor
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
    Style: Mod, Punk
  • A1 Art School
    A2 I'Ve Changed My Address
    A3 Slow Down
    A4 I Got By In Time
    A5 Away From The Numbers
    A6 Batman Theme
    B1 In The City
    B2 Sounds From The Street
    B3 Non-Stop Dancing
    B4 Time For Truth
    B5 Takin' My Love
    B6 Bricks And Mortar