Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Television – Marquee Moon

Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • In 1977 this great album was released in the middle of a punk storm and in contrast to some records of this era it still has its own charm 26 years later! Television worked in the environment of the legendary New York CBGB Club and their debut sounds the same. Outstanding remains the ingenious interplay of guitarists Tom Verlaine and Richard Lloyd as well as Verlaine's nasally boring vocals. Television's debut album caused all critics to break out into hymns of praise when it appeared. And even today, almost 30 years later, it simply stands for timeless good music.

    The Television Sound could perhaps be described as "progressive" or "alternative" to the 1970s rock. The songs are all very independent, but versatile and varied, the basic mood of the music is rather calm. Aggressiveness and melancholy are present, but are dampened by the cool and disciplined, yet committed performance. The sound is rather simple, without bombast, very clear. It should also be pointed out that the boys here manage completely without effects.

    The ten-minute title song "Marquee Moon" stands out especially on this album. Long pieces often have the disadvantage of becoming monotonous or annoying at some point, but this one doesn't. Television has found exactly the right balance between variation and repetition. The title track is beside "Sonic Reducer" by the much more proliferous Dead Boys, "Blank Generation" by buddy Richard Hell or Patti Smith's "Gloria" one of the strongest songs from this wonderful epoch.
  • Artist: Television
    Label: Elektra, Rhino Vinyl
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
    Style: New Wave, Punk
  • A1 See No Evil
    A2 Venus
    A3 Friction
    A4 Marquee Moon
    B1 Elevation
    B2 Guiding Light
    B3 Prove It
    B4 Torn Curtain