Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Sonic Youth – Sister

Sold out
Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • It's been almost 30 years since the alternative rockers Sonic Youth released the classic "Sister" on their own label Goofin'. Now there is finally a re-issue

    To this day, the album is considered a milestone in the noise pop scene. On this album, the quartet for the first time allowed melodic elements and clear structures - which characterized the previous records - to flow into the dissonant soundscapes.

    This 1987 opus shows the band at the creative peak of their career. The group around singer Thurston Moore and bassist Kim Gordon recorded songs like "(I Got A) Catholic Block", "Pacific Coast Highway" and "Beauty Lies In The Eye" for "Sister". Also featured is a reinterpretation of the crime song "Hot Wire My Heart." Throughout all the recordings there is a slightly gloomy mood, interrupted every now and then by melodic interludes.


    "There is no album in the entire spectrum of indie rock - not 'Loveless,' not 'Surfer Rosa,' not 'Psychocandy' - that reaches the same heights of creativity, pure joy and sheer magic as Sonic Youth's fifth album. The dark daydreams of 'Sister' will linger in your head for years to come, even if you've only heard it once. 'Sister' is the musical equivalent of refracted light. It's an album that changes the listener." - Stereogum

  • Artist: Sonic Youth
    Label: Goofin' Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
  • A1 Schizophrenia
    A2 (I Got A) Catholic Block
    A3 Beauty Lies In The Eye
    A4 Stereo Sanctity
    A5 Pipeline / Kill Time
    B1 Tuff Gnarl
    B2 Pacific Coast Highway
    B3 Hot Wire My Heart
    B4 Kotton Krown
    B5 White Kross