Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Bill Withers – Just As I Am (Speakers Corner)

Original price $65.00 - Original price $65.00
Original price
$65.00 - $65.00
Current price $65.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • "Just As I Am" - if you start your career late in life, you may already have developed an expressive personality profile, even if, as with Bill Withers, it wasn't influenced by music at first. Withers served in the US Navy for many years, worked as a milkman and installed toilets in jets for an American aircraft manufacturer, while his self-made and diligently shipped demo tapes landed in the drain at record companies. In 1971, the steep rise followed when the successful producer Booker T. Jones took him in tow and put top musicians such as guitarist Stephen Stills, drummer Al Jackson and Donald 'Duck' Dunn in the studio as bass man.

    In his debut album Withers shows his universal and mature abilities as a singer, composer and performer, which he hardly surpassed in later recordings. "Harlem", an unembellished milieu funk about the New York slums, "Grandma's Hands", the obligatory look back into childhood and the soulful ballad "Ain't No Sunshine" with its prayer wheel-like "I know, I know ..." circling in off-beat, are exposed musical annual rings of an experienced man in his mid-thirties who finally gets a chance to speak. There is no alternative to this record of the great songwriter with the small repertoire.


    I. Düzgün in Stereo 2 / 08: "This first work is a Must-buy for everyone who loves soul, comparable to "What's Going On" by Marvin Gaye. And for those of you Already have a record, it is worthwhile to check the sonic Advantages of the newly pressed 180-gram rind to be pressed nießen".


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (261 votes)
  • Artist: Bill Withers
    Label: Speakers Corner Records, Sussex
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Germany
    Genre: Soul & Funk
    Style: Soul
  • A1 Harlem
    A2 Ain'T No Sunshine
    A3 Grandma'S Hands
    A4 Sweet Wanomi
    A5 Everybody'S Talkin'
    A6 Do It Good
    B1 Hope She'Ll Be Happier
    B2 Let It Be
    B3 I'M Her Daddy
    B4 In My Heart
    B5 Moanin' And Groanin'
    B6 Better Off Dead