Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

The Cinematic Orchestra

The Cinematic Orchestra is a British nu-jazz and electronic music group, formed in 1999 by Jason Swinscoe. The band is known for fusing jazz and classical influences with electronic sounds, and has had a variety of high-profile collaborations with vocalists, including Fontella Bass, Lou Rhodes and Roots Manuva.

The Cinematic Orchestra's breakout album, "Motion" (1999), featured reworkings of jazz standards and classical pieces. The album earned them a Mercury Prize nomination and a nomination for the inaugural BBC Radio 3 Awards for World Music.

The Cinematic Orchestra's second album, "Everyday" (2002), was even more successful, with the single "Man with a Movie Camera" becoming an instant classic. Other standout songs from the album include "Burn Out" and "All That You Give".

The Cinematic Orchestra's third album, "Ma Fleur" (2007), was another critical success, earning the band a Grammy Award nomination for Best Contemporary Jazz Album. The album featured guest appearances from Lou Rhodes, Patrick Watson and Andy Pipes, among others.

In 2019, The Cinematic Orchestra released their fifth album, "To Believe", which featured a collaboration with Moses Sumney.

An interesting fact about The Cinematic Orchestra is that they provided the score for the Academy Award-nominated film "The Triplets of Belleville" (2003).