Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Oscar Peterson - We Get Requests (180g, Verve / Acoustic Sounds Series)

Original price $75.00 - Original price $75.00
Original price
$75.00 - $75.00
Current price $75.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist

  • When Jim Davis started producing records at Verve, he changed the company's recording philosophy toward its most prolific instrumentalist. Where Norman Granz had produced countless Oscar Peterson albums dedicated to the popular song, Davis was more interested in making albums closer to how the Peterson trio sounded live.

    By then the Peterson trio with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen had been together for five years and performed like a well-oiled machine. Listeners here are treated to mostly pop songs of the day, including bossa nova tunes and film themes, and the treatments are fairly brief, with emphasis placed squarely on the melodies.

    Originally released in 1964.

    • Musicians:
      Oscar Peterson, piano
      Ray Brown, bass
      Ed Thigpen, drums

    • Acoustic Sounds Series reissues from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises!
    • Monthly releases highlighting the world's most historic and best jazz records!
    • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from the original analog tapes
    • 180-gram LPs pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
    • Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jackets
    • Series supervised by Chad Kassem CEO of Acoustic Sounds
  • Artist: The Oscar Peterson Trio
    Label: UMe, Verve Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: US
    Genre: Jazz
    Style: Bop
  • A1 Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)
    A2 The Days Of Wine And Roses
    A3 My One And Only Love
    A4 People
    A5 Have You Met Miss Jones?
    B1 You Look Good To Me
    B2 The Girl From Ipanema
    B3 D. & E.
    B4 Time And Again
    B5 Goodbye J.D.