Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

James Brown – Black Caesar

Sold out
Original price $50.00 - Original price $50.00
Original price
$50.00 - $50.00
Current price $50.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • James Brown's original soundtrack album for the 1973 Blaxploitation film classic Black Caesar will be re-released by Polydor / UMe with faithfully replicated artwork

    Black Caesar was released in February 1973 and is a Harlem-based gangster drama written and directed by Larry Cohen with actors Fred Williamson, Gloria Hendry, D'Urville Martin and Julius Harris. The original score was James Brown's first attempt to write music for the screen. Pieces of Brown's soundtrack, such as "The Boss", have since been sampled into tracks by top rap artists, including Ice-T , Trick Daddy and Nas

    Black Caesar's soundtrack also includes the single "Down And Out In New York City" arranged by J. B.'s band director Fred Wesley, which peaked at #13 on the Billboard R&B charts and #50 on the pop charts. For the release of this album, Brown began calling himself "The Godfather of Soul", a nickname that has been exactly what the world has known him as ever since.
  • Artist: James Brown
    Label: Polydor, Republic Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Soul & Funk
  • A1 Down And Out In New York City
    A2 Blind Man Can See It
    A3 Sportin' Life
    A4 Dirty Harri
    A5 The Boss
    A6 Make It Good To Yourself
    B1 Mama Feelgood
    B2 Mama'S Dead
    B3 White Lightning (I Mean Moonshine)
    B4 Chase
    B5 Like It Is, Like It Was