Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

The Sweet

The Sweet is a British glam rock band from London, England that formed in 1968. The original lineup consisted of vocalist Brian Connolly, bassist Steve Priest, guitarist Andy Scott and drummer Mick Tucker. The Sweet rose to fame during the 1970s, scoring several hit singles and albums, including the chart-topping album Desolation Boulevard in 1975.

The Sweet's first major hit was their 1971 single, "Funny Funny". This song was followed by a string of hit singles, such as "Little Willy", "Wig Wam Bam", "Blockbuster!", and "The Ballroom Blitz". Their 1973 album, Sweet Fanny Adams, featured their hit single "The Six Teens".

The Sweet's most successful album was Desolation Boulevard, which featured their hits "Fox On The Run", "Action", and "The Lies in Your Eyes". This album reached the top of the UK Albums Chart, and was certified platinum. The Sweet continued to have success throughout the 1970s, with their 1976 album Give Us a Wink, which featured the hit single "Rock and Roll Disgrace".

The Sweet disbanded in 1981, but the members reunited in 1992 for a series of concerts. In 2001, the band released a new album, Cut Above the Rest, which featured re-recordings of some of their classic hits.

An interesting fact about The Sweet is that they were originally called Sweetshop. They changed their name to The Sweet in order to avoid confusion with the band Sweet.