Skip to content

Dutch Vinyl – Online Record Store Australia

Various – Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986 (2xLP)

On order
Original price $70.00 - Original price $70.00
Original price
$70.00 - $70.00
Current price $70.00
Condition: Brand New


The sequel to the successful LITA compilation "Pacific Breeze: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1976-1986" - with new artwork by renowned illustrator Hiroshi Nagai - remastered audio - detailed artist biographies in an oversized fold-out booklet // When Light In The Attic 2019 unleashed the Pacific breeze with "Pacific Breeze: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1976-1986", it was the first collection of its kind to be released outside Japan. It turned out to be exactly what music fans had been waiting for - a compilation of coveted titles that were almost impossible to get without good contacts to dealers and collectors or regular visits to record stores in Japan

On the sampler Minako Yoshida, Taeko Ohnuki, Hiroshi Sato and Haruomi Hosono were presented alongside other key figures of Japanese City Pop of the 70s and 80s. A nebulous genre that includes an amalgam of AOR, R&B, jazz-fusion, funk, boogie, disco and easy listening pop with tropical euphoria

With "Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986" the makers of this compilation dive even deeper into the sounds of the Japanese bubble era. From proto-city pop funk from Bread & Butter and Eiichi Ohtaki to Eri Ohno and Piper, the latest entry in the Japan Archival Series of Light In The Attic brings another set of coveted melodies, most of which have never been available outside Japan. Tomoko Aran and Anri, who are also included in this compilation, are just some of the artists who have gained popularity in recent years thanks to Vaporwave, the mem genre that extensively samples Japanese city pop for its special aesthetic

Pacific Breeze 2" once again features the work of renowned Tokyo illustrator Hiroshi Nagai, whose iconic images of resort life have become synonymous with city pop. Nagai's urban, tropical images fit perfectly with the expertly curated melodies and evoke a certain nostalgia for the leisure lifestyle in Tokyo in the 70s and 80s, while at the same time being in perfect harmony with the current zeitgeist.

Release details

Artist: Various
Label: Light In The Attic
Format: LP
Units: 2
Country: US
Genre: Rock, Funk / Soul, Pop, Jazz


A1 Pink Shadow
A2 Yubikiri
A3 Vibration (Love Celebration)
A4 Kindaichi Kosuke No Theme
B1 Hidari Mune No Seiza
B2 Last Summer Whisper
B3 Blind Curve
B4 I'M In Love
C1 Kindaichi Kosuke Nishi E Iku
C2 Tokyo Taste
C3 Hot Sand
C4 Rainy Saturday & Coffee Break
D1 Skyfire
D2 Kanpoo
D3 Harumifutou
D4 Bay/Sky Provincetown 1977