Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Volume 1 – Traveling Wilburys

Original price $52.00 - Original price $52.00
Original price
$52.00 - $52.00
Current price $52.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • An all-star troupe with George Harrison, Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, Roy Orbison and Jeff Lynne? That can't be. Yes, it can! In 1988, the top-class ensemble released its first album Traveling Wilburys Vol. 1. For this, the musicians came up with pseudonyms: Harrison becomes Nelson Wilbury, Dylan Lucky Wilbury, Petty Charlie T. Wilbury, Orbison Lefty Wilbury and Lynne Otis Wilbury

    George Harrison first mentioned the Traveling Wilburys during a radio interview with Bob Coburn of the Rockline radio station in February 1988. When asked what he was planning as a follow-up to his album Cloud Nine, Harrison replied, "What I'd really like to do next is .... do an album with me and some of my buddies .... a couple of tracks, you know. Maybe the Traveling Wilburys ... that's this new group I have: it's called the Traveling Wilburys, I'd love to do an album with them and then later on we can all go back to doing our own albums.

    "Wilbury" was a slang term first used by Harrison during the recording of Cloud Nine with Jeff Lynne. In reference to recording errors caused by faulty equipment, Harrison jokingly remarked to Lynne, "We'll bury 'em in the mix." After that, they used the term for every little mistake in the performance, and the term was used again when the group was together ....

  • Artist: Traveling Wilburys
    Label: Concord Bicycle Music, Wilbury Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Handle With Care
    A2 Dirty World
    A3 Rattled
    A4 Last Night
    A5 Not Alone Any More
    B1 Congratulations
    B2 Heading For The Light
    B3 Margarita
    B4 Tweeter And The Monkey Man
    B5 End Of The Line