Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

The Doobie Brothers – Minute By Minute (Speakers Corner)

Original price $65.00 - Original price $65.00
Original price
$65.00 - $65.00
Current price $65.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Fatal and anecdotal the Doobie-Brothers have twinned without any blood relation: To the circular and thus fraternally shared marijuana role (Doobie) in the practice room the intoxicated and momentous sentence "We are all Doobie-Brothers" is said to have fallen at some point. Meanwhile, with a clear view, co-founder Tom Johnston envisioned a sound based on Motown, with a bass line à la Seals & Crofts and vocals in the style of Stevie Wonder.

    The fact that "Minute By Minute", the first album of the post-Johnston era, perfectly implements the mature style of the group is due in part to the two experienced former Steely Dan tops Jeff 'Skunk' Baxter and vocalist Michael McDonald. Subtle, mildly electrified groove embodies the guiding principle of this album. Cosy, highly colourful, glittering sounds round off with powerful rhythms to warming sounds ("What A Fool Believes"). Over rolling piano chords on jagged bass, solo vocals and polyphonic background layer up to happy harmony ("Here To Love You").

    Well tuned and perfectly served solos of lead guitar and sax are welcome extras that never drown out the impressive team leadership. So much brotherhood on record has earned her triple platinum and the Grammy trophy.

    This Speakers Corner production was made using analog master tape and mastering 100% pure analog All licenses and GEMA contributions were paid.

    Recording: 1978 at the Warner Bros. studios, North Hollywood, by Donn Landee and Loyd Clifft Production: Ted Templeman


    "With this pristine, clean pressing, Speakers Corner does full justice to the album's high fidelity." (stereoplay, January 2020)

    "Speakers Corner has produced an excellent reissue of this classic." (audio, February 2020)

    "The single 'What A Fool Believes' became the biggest hit of the former Stoner brothers (Doobie = joint), but also the other nine tracks are including of the pure country instrumental Steamer Lane Breakdown' not by bad parents. Speakers Corner has this classic excellent pure analog restored." (Good Times, February / March 2020)

    "The LP recorded from the master tape is absolutely flat, noise- and crack-free, equipped with a text sheet and a high-quality plastic inner sleeve." (Stereo, May 2020)
  • Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Pop & Rock
    Style: Funk, Soul
  • A1 Here To Love You
    A2 What A Fool Believes
    A3 Minute By Minute
    A4 Dependin' On You
    A5 Don'T Stop To Watch The Wheels
    B1 Open Your Eyes
    B2 Sweet Feelin'
    B3 Steamer Lane Breakdown
    B4 You Never Change
    B5 How Do The Fools Survive?