Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Santana – Caravanserai (Speakers Corner)

Original price $58.00 - Original price $58.00
Original price
$58.00 - $58.00
Current price $58.00
Condition: Brand New
Ships from: Melbourne
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • To integrate the music of Carlos Santana into a genre resembles a dance on a volcano for the rock augurs. While the New York Times celebrated the band as the reincarnation of Dizzy Gillespie's epochal Cuban jazz big band at the end of the 1940s, Rolling Stone wanted to have experienced a "methedrine rush without pictures". Organist Gregg Rolie provided a very simple explanation for the origins of the differentiated sound images and the throbbing and chirping of Afro-Cuban polyrhythms. He succinctly remarked that every member of the multicultural band "plays the music with which he grew up".

    Just how exciting this sounds is shown by the opening piece, which is made up of natural sounds, twisted rhythms and small pieces of melody. Like many other songs it fascinates even without the unique drive in Santana's lead sound. Of course there is also plenty of solo material on the guitar as exuberant improvisations to rock, salsa and jazz essences. Rightly, listening to this perfectly oiled rhythm machine, one gets the impression that the limits of what is feasible have been explored in this unique formation, which not by chance disintegrated a short time later. What has remained is one of the strongest Santana albums available.


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (834 votes)
  • Artist: Santana
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: UK, Europe & US
    Genre: Pop & Rock
  • A1 Eternal Caravan Of Reincarnation
    A2 Waves Within
    A3 Look Up (To See What'S Coming Down)
    A4 Just In Time To See The Sun
    A5 Song Of The Wind
    A6 All The Love Of The Universe
    B1 Future Primitive
    B2 Stone Flower
    B3 La Fuente Del Ritmo
    B4 Every Step Of The Way