Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Nina Simone – Nina Simone Sings The Blues (Speakers Corner)

Sold out
Original price $68.00 - Original price $68.00
Original price
$68.00 - $68.00
Current price $68.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • In social and private life Nina Simone always knew exactly what she did not want. Sometimes she lamented about the lousy erotic qualities of her lovers, then the audience got its fat. Other times she cancelled appearances without further ado and scolded the show business. In music, rooted in gospel, she sought the middle way between jazz and pop until they crowned rock fans in the sixties the High Priestess of Soul (LP title).

    In their most undisputedly productive phase, this blues album was also created, which pays homage to the currents of the time neither with massive instrumentation nor with clinking electrification. Instead, the simple and beautiful Alto Simone wraps himself in tender organ sounds and pulsating, but by no means stomping rhythms. The rather sober title "Sings The Blues" is here a promise for crackling tension and relentless authenticity of the genre, which for every black artist means the beginning and at the same time the completion of all music. Thus, the re-edition of the original should characterise the life's work of the diva on her 70th birthday in February and her sudden death in April 2003 more vividly than any compilation, no matter how conscientiously compiled.

    Recording: 1967 by Ray Hall and Mickey Crofford at RCA Victor's Studio B, New York
    Production: Danny Davis


    AllMusic rating:
    AllMusic users:
    (522 votes)
  • Artist: Nina Simone
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Germany
    Genre: Jazz
  • A1 Do I Move You
    A2 Day And Night
    A3 In The Dark
    A4 Real Real
    A5 My Man'S Gone Now
    A6 Backlash Blues
    B1 I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl
    B2 Buck
    B3 Since I Fell For You
    B4 The House Of The Rising Sun
    B5 Blues For Mama