Skip to content
Everything on our website is IN STOCK and ready to ship!
Everything on our website is IN STOCK and ready to ship!

Marvin Gaye – Collected

Sold out
Condition: Brand New


Motown released the first Marvin Gaye record "(I'm Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over" in 1961; a single intended for (radio) promotion for the singer's debut album. The officially released single "Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide" followed a week later. Gaye got his first real hit in 1962 with "Stubborn Kind Of Fellow", which he co-composed himself and in which he joked about his alleged stubbornness.

This laid the foundation for an enormous series of chart successes: "Pride And Joy", "Can I Get A Witness", "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)" and "Ain't That Peculiar" are all Motown classics from 1963 to 1965, which are still played regularly after all these years. The duets he recorded with Kim Weston ("It Takes Two") and especially with Tammi Terrell were certainly at least as good. His greatest hit came in 1968 with "I Heard It Through The Grapevine". "What's Goin' On" from the album of the same name became a number 1 hit in the USA and the album is considered a masterpiece and is generally regarded as one of the most important albums in pop history

The artistically and commercially very successful "Let's Get It On" from 1973 was mainly a musical ode to Mavin's new muse Janis Hunter. The success that "Sexual Healing" experienced gave him another boost in 1982. Suddenly Gaye, who was already on his way into oblivion, was a celebrated star again and that was certainly a state Gaye enjoyed very much

On April 1, 1984, the pop world lost one of the most important soul singers ever to walk on the earth's soil. Gaye left behind a series of fantastic hits, as well as a whole handful of other tracks, all of which deserve the title Masterpiece, all united on this album.

Release details

Label: Music On Vinyl, Universal Music
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition, Numbered
Units: 2
Country: Europe
Released: 2017
Genre: Funk / Soul
Style: Disco, Soul


A1 (I'M Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over
A2 Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
A3 Hitch Hike
A4 Pride And Joy
A5 Can I Get A Witness
A6 Once Upon A Time
A7 Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
A8 How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
B1 It Takes Two
B2 I'Ll Be Doggone
B3 Ain'T That Peculiar
B4 Ain'T No Mountain High Enough
B5 I Heard It Through The Grapevine
B6 Ain'T Nothing Like The Real Thing
B7 You'Re All I Need To Get By
B8 Too Busy Thinking About My Baby
C1 What'S Going On
C2 Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
C3 Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)
C4 Trouble Man
C5 Let'S Get It On
C6 You Are Everything
D1 Distant Lover
D2 I Want You
D3 Got To Give Up
D4 Heavy Love Affair
D5 Sexual Healing
D6 Sanctified Lady