Skip to content
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150
Over 20,000 records In Stock - $10 Flat rate shipping - FREE shipping over $150

Mahavishnu Orchestra – Birds Of Fire (Speakers Corner)

Sold out
Original price $68.00 - Original price $68.00
Original price
$68.00 - $68.00
Current price $68.00
Condition: Brand New
  • Description
  • Release details
  • Tracklist
  • Of the three incarnations of the spiritually driven Mahavishnu Orchestra, the first is the most full-bodied. So the musicians around the enlightened John McLaughlin immortalized their debut "The Inner Mounting Flame" among the 100 best jazz albums and shortly after that they added the concentrated studio collection "Birds Of Fire".

    Long before today's labelled world music, the quintet set the standard for a meaningful fusion of dynamic rock with complex Indian rhythms and western conventions. Already in the title track, the actors amalgamate sharpened Hendrix style with expansive melos and take the grandeur of jazz ("Miles Beyond") into their musical center with smacking grooves and fine riffs. The "Thousand Island Park" blossoms in quiet colours, almost chamber-musically condensed, whereas the cascades in "Hope", which are constantly approaching, desperately seek their destination.

    Exciting how finely weighted patterns ("One Word") develop into technoid violin playing and challenge the listener to an inner procession in the following "Sanctuary". After these flights of fancy, the familiar funky sound of the Volkston ("Open Country Joy") is grounded, before it goes steeply upwards again: in the final title "Resolution", the sublime of this new music of world cultures prevails over slowly ascending sound surfaces.

    This Speakers Corner production was made using analog master tape and 100% pure analog mastering. All licenses and GEMA contributions were paid.

    Recording: August 1972 at Trident Studios, London, by Ken Scott and CBS-Studios, New York, by Jim Green
    Production: The Mahavishnu Orchestra


    "Speakers Corner has released the LP With full height spectrum and thus with Cobham's hypercrisper snare in of excellent quality." (Good Times, June / July 2019)

    "Speakers Corner has reworked the LP in excellent quality, thankfully without height attenuation." (Audio, July 2019)

    "It's always an experience to get into 'Birds Of Fire', especially in this quality." (LP magazine, issue 6 / 2019)
  • Artist: Mahavishnu Orchestra
    Label: Columbia, Sony Music, Speakers Corner Records
    Format: LP
    Units: 1
    Country: Europe
    Genre: Jazz
    Style: Fusion, Jazz-Rock
  • A1 Birds Of Fire
    A2 Miles Beyond
    A3 Celestial Terrestrial Commuters
    A4 Sapphire Bullets Of Pure Love
    A5 Thousand Island Park
    A6 Hope
    B1 One Word
    B2 Sanctuary
    B3 Open Country Joy
    B4 Resolution